PIP Claims Lawyer
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provides compensation to victims after an auto accident regardless of who was at fault for the crash. This is a type of no-fault insurance that Florida laws are supposed to make filing a PIP claim easy for victims. However, insurance companies do not always want to cooperate. This is particularly true when your injuries are severe, which is when you need the money to pay for medical bills and lost wages.
At Schlacter Law, we understand that you pay your insurance premiums for when you need to make a valid claim and get compensation for medical bills or lost wages. We do not tolerate insurance companies that refuse to honor their obligation to pay for valid PIP claims. We offer a FREE consultation, and, if we accept your case, we will aggressively pursue your case to hold insurance companies accountable for their actions. There is no risk to ask for our help because we only get paid when we recover compensation for you. Call our award-winning law firm by dialing (305) 999-1111 or fill out a free case evaluation to discover what our PIP claims lawyer at Schlacter Law can do for you.
What Can a PIP Claim Pay for You?
Florida is a no-fault insurance state, which means that PIP claims are paid to the insured driver no matter who is at fault for the crash. The intent behind this statutory scheme is to enable injured motorists to immediately recover compensation for medical bills and lost wages instead of waiting for a claim to get processed or litigated. The emphasis is on immediate payment for customers.
PIP claims generally pay the following:
- 80% of medical bills, which include medications, dental expenses, therapy, rehabilitation services, procedures/surgeries, and other treatment
- 60% of lost wages due to the subject accident and the injury related to the crash
- Up to $5,000 of death benefits
- Other possible benefits depending on the plan, including mileage reimbursement to and from your healthcare providers
However, PIP claims generally may not pay:
- Any medical bills when treatment is not started within 14 days of the subject accident
- For massage or acupuncture therapy
- Many other reasons for denied and/or unpaid PIP claims
Get Help in PIP Cases with Our Experienced Law Firm
Victims who have had a PIP claim denied may be entitled to free legal representation if the insurers improperly reduced or denied PIP benefits. In these situations, victims may seek their legal fees associated with pursuing their claim. If you suffered a serious or catastrophic injury and you are having difficulty with PIP claims, call our PIP claims lawyer at Schlacter Law for a FREE consultation to learn what your case may be worth and how we can start protecting your rights to compensation today. We also represent various medical providers who are treating clients on an assignment of benefits (AOB) relationship. We have successfully recovered money for MRI and imaging centers, orthopedic doctors, neurologists, chiropractors, surgical centers, EMC providers, and many more medical professionals.
How We Handle Cases
- Your attorney will aggressively investigate your case. Schlacter Law will compile all necessary evidence needed to maximize the value of your case. Which includes but is not limited to photographs, police reports, security camera footage, witness statements, medical bills and medical records.
- You will remain in constant contact with Schlacter Law about the progression of your case.
- Your attorney will present your case to the insurance company and will attempt to resolve your case before the case goes to court for maximum compensation.
- Your attorney will make every effort possible to resolve the case as quickly as possible for the most amount of money you may be entitled to. You will be actively involved in the negotiation process with your attorney. Schlacter Law understands that this is your one opportunity to get justice for your loss.
- If settlement negotiations are unsuccessful, Schlacter Law will be fully prepared to bring your case to court to fight for the justice you deserve.
- At no cost to you, Schlacter Law will hire any experts and professionals needed to maximize your recovery and present your case in the strongest form possible.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, a patient must have treated within 14 days of the crash. If a patient does not seek treatment within two weeks of a crash, no coverage may apply. This means victims of motor vehicle accidents who are not sure if they are injured but do not feel “right” should immediately get evaluated by a healthcare provider.
Sometimes. If the pedestrian owns his or her own car, then they are covered by their own policy. If a pedestrian does not own a vehicle but lives with another person who owns a car, then the pedestrian is usually covered by that policy. If the pedestrian does not own a vehicle and does not live with someone who owns a vehicle, then the pedestrian would have to submit a PIP claim to the at-fault driver’s policy.